I entered a contest a few days ago, and I WON! I was so excited I have never won anything before. I didn't know what the prize was, a new house, a new car, or a puppy. No,it was something much much more exciting. A time machine! My mom was amazed when it showed up at my door. I came home and tore of the bubble wrap. I was puzzled, there was only one setting for the time . There were two settings for the location, "The Home of Leonardo Da Vinci" or "The Home of Michelangelo". What? I had heard of these names before in my CORE class. I wrote Cornell notes about them,and decided to do more research. What if the time machine only works once? I should choose wisely.  

I found out that Michelangelo was very important to the renaissance, but Leonardo Da Vinci painted the most famous painting that we know today,"The Mona Lisa". He even was the first person to fantasize, and sketch airplanes. I know that this is the best choice. I choose da vinci. I grab my suitcase, just in case it is only a one way ticket. I grab my chinchilla, Mr. Fluffy McSnuggles, and sit down. The purple leather seat rubs against my thighs, and is pretty uncomfortable. I shouldn't complain, because this purple leather couch is a once in a lifetime chance. This is exciting, I put my leather purse across my shoulder and head off. My mom bites her nails down to nubs as I go. I see purple swirls and my  house spins away from me as I travel back in time. 


My clothes slowly morph into tight leather pants, then to a mini skirt, then jeans, shorts and all of the above.Then, my shirt started to change, finally my outfit settled on a violet dress with a hoop skirt, and gold fabric underneath.The top is laced with gold bows on the shoulders, and a purple head dress flows down my back. My bag slowly changes to a purple silk snap bag with a golden strap. My suitcase enlarges with new clothes like the ones I'm wearing and the suitcase itself turns into a golden silk bag with purple lining and wooden handles. The wheels vanished too. I felt the the time machine lurch forward, then backwards and then stops and starts to fall down. I buckle the seat-belt around me and Mr. Mcsnuggles. Then we land on a floor. I look around. I see wood models that look like hang gliders. sketchbooks opened and filled with pictures and explanations. I unbuckle the seat-belt and grab McSnuggles. I leave my bag and smooth my dress. 
            "Why hello my dear. What brings you here?" I am startled by an unfamiliar voice.
           
 " Well, I won a contest and I...its a long story. I came here from the present, wait no the future for you, 2012. You                                
 are really very famous you know, I learned all about you in school, your paintings are worth millions maybe billions" I say.
    "Its funny, you have such a small mouth, yet so MANY words," He replies as he examines the time machine, "I                                          prefer to write my ideas down, or paint them, even."  His calmness amazes me, doesn't he want to know all about 2012? I guess he has his own ideas.  I look around and see an unfinished Mona Lisa, her face is painted, but her smile is missing. "You should add a little smile to her, she seems so unhappy." I suggest. "Why, little girl, you are right from now on you will be Mona Lisa's smile" He took out a paintbrush and made the corners of her mouth turn up just slightly. I see lights start to blink on the time machine. "I better catch my ride, see ya later yo!" I say. 
" Yes, indeed come back as soon as you can!" 

As I travel back my clothes turn back, and I start to think. I know I chose the right place, I saw his many inventions, and he even let me flip through some of his notes. I amazed him when I told him how airplanes are invented, and I'm sure his ideas contributed in the making. He continued to paint after I left, and is known as the biggest genius today.I was amazed by him just as much or maybe even more than he was amazed by me. I was told that fantasies don't get you anywhere, but his did, and he is the most amazing person ever all because of those fantasies.                     
 

     



Leave a Reply.